It was announced this evening on MLB Network that the BBWAA has named Nationals skipper Davey Johnson the 2012 National League Manager of the year. Mandatory Credit: Daniel Shirey-US PRESSWIRE

Davey Johnson Wins National League Manager of the Year

The Nationals may not have won the big trophy, but they certainly aren’t leaving the 2012 season without collecting a substantial amount of hardware.

On the night after Bryce Harper was named National League Rookie of the Year, it was announced on MLB Network that Nationals manager Davey Johnson was the 2012 National League Manager of the Year.

Johnson obtained 23 of the 32 first-place votes, and 131 total votes, beating out second and third-place candidates Dusty Baker and Bruce Bochy by 54 (77) and 70 (61) respectively. Baker and Bochy both led their clubs to division titles, Bochy via overcoming the luxurious, expensive Dodgers and then winning the World Series, however, Johnson led the Nationals to the best record in baseball (98-64) and did so while dealing with a plethora of injuries and controversy surrounding You Know Who.

Johnson became the fourth manager in Nationals history following Jim Riggleman‘s abrupt resignation in mid-2011. The club has a 138-101 record since Johnson was named manager, and improved on last year’s record (80-81) by 18 wins this year, setting the record for wins since the Nationals moved to Washington, D.C in 2005.

Tags: BBWAA Davey Johnson Manager Of The Year National League Washington Nationals

comments powered by Disqus