A.J. Burnett was able to cool off the red-hot Nationals on Monday night, but the two teams will square off again on Tuesday. Will Asdrubal Cabrera be back in the lineup? Keep reading to find out.
With tight right side feeling better, Asdrubal pinch-hits
PHILADELPHIA — Nationals second baseman Asdrubal Cabrera had a full workout prior to the Nats-Phillies series opener on Monday as he looked to get past the tightness in the right side of his rib cage that forced him to leave Sunday’s contest against the Giants before the eighth inning. He sustained the injury after hitting a grounder to short in the bottom of the seventh.
“He did some early hits and he came out of that fine,” Nationals manager Matt Williams said. “And so we’re going to put him through the full workout today — take grounders and run and make sure. We want to give him a day to make sure that he’s OK for tomorrow potentially.”
Cabrera proved he was OK when he got a chance to pinch-hit in the ninth inning of Monday night’s 3-2 loss. He singled on a grounder to right field to put any lingering doubts about the injury to rest. Read full article here.
Hamels aims to give Phils rare NL East series win
It’s been a while since the Phillies won a series against a National League East opponent. But if they beat the Nationals in Tuesday’s game at Citizens Bank Park, they’ll secure their first series victory vs. a divisional foe since mid-June.
There might not be a better pitcher to take on that task than Cole Hamels.
His chances at an eighth win are plenty high considering how well he’s performed when facing the Nats in his career. Lifetime, he’s 15-7 with a 2.54 ERA in 30 starts against them. Read full article here.
Nationals get safe call at second overturned
PHILADELPHIA — Vying for an insurance run in a one-run game in the seventh inning, the Phillies’ Domonic Brown hit a soft liner in front of Bryce Harper in left field. Brown busted out of the box and tried to stretch the hit into a double. He beat Harper’s throw to the bag and was called safe on the field, but appeared to come off the base as he popped up after his slide.
Nationals manager Matt Williams quickly left the dugout to challenge the call, and after a review that lasted just over two minutes, the ruling on the field was overturned as the replay revealed that Brown came off the base and Danny Espinosa was there to get him with the tag for the inning’s first out. Read full article here.